About Features Reviews Community Screenings Archives Studios Home
January 2006
Denzel Washington News

Pan African Film and Arts Festival

Announces 2006 Honorees

PAFF Night of Tribute to Honor
Louis Gossett Jr., Jim Brown, Hill Harper, Kimberly Elise
and The Honorable Mervyn M. Dymally 

LOS ANGELES ?The 14th Annual Pan African Film and Arts Festival will honor legendary actor LOUIS GOSSETT JR. with the coveted PAFF Lifetime Achievement Award during their annual Night of Tribute.  Other distinguished honorees include JIM BROWN (Pioneer Award), HILL HARPER (Canada Lee Award), KIMBERLY ELISE (Beah Richards Awards), and the Honorable MERVYN M. DYMALLY who will receive the PAFF Community Service Award.  The 2006 PAFF featured artist is DJIBRIL N’DOYE.  The star-studded event will be held at 7 p.m. on Saturday, February 18th at the Magic Johnson Theatre located at 3650 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard in Los Angeles.  Tickets are $60.  For sales and more information, please call (323) 295-1706 or visit www.paff.org

PAFF, the largest Black history month event in the U.S., will be held from February 9-20, 2006 in Los Angeles at the Magic Johnson Theaters and Baldwin Hills Crenshaw Plaza. The festival was launched in February 1992 by founder Ayuko Babu.   The 2006 PAFF program will showcase a diverse selection of Black films inclusive of features, shorts, documentaries as well as studio/network releases.  The PAFF is dedicated to the promotion of cultural and racial tolerance and understanding through the exhibition of film, art and creative expression.  The PAFF will feature panel discussions, industry workshops and seminars in addition to its film showcases.

The PAFF also presents one of America's largest fine art shows featuring prominent and emerging Black artists and fine craftspeople at the annual PAFF Artist Market held at the Baldwin Hills Crenshaw Plaza.

The PAFF is supported by Hollywood’s leading black actors and filmmakers including: Jaime Foxx, Mo’nique, Ja’net Dubois, Danny Glover, Denzel Washington, Laurence Fishburne, Lynn Whitfield, Damon Wayans, Sanaa Lathan, Stan Lathan, Wesley Snipes, Forest Whitaker, Kasi Lemmons, Vondie Curtis-Hall, Blair Underwood, Alfre Woodard, Eriq LaSalle, Angela Bassett, Diahann Carroll, Ernie Hudson, Hill Harper, Michael Beach, CCH Pounder, Neema Barnette, Debbie Allen, Sharif Atkins, Penny Johnson Gerald, Carl Lumbly, Taj Mahal, Euzhan Palcy, Sydney Tamia Poitier, Sinbad, Lorraine Toussaint and Malcolm Jamal Warner.

Past festival features have included box office and award-winning hits: Ray, Lackawanna Blues, Redemption, Civil Brand, Crazy As Hell, Kingdom Come, The Brothers, Gridlock’d, and more.

The 2006 PAFF is sponsored in part by: Magic Johnson Theatres, Baldwin Hills Crenshaw Plaza, Union Bank of California, Starbucks, Urban Coffee Opportunities, Magic Johnson Enterprises, Target, South African Airways, Rolling Out Magazine and the Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs.

For more information, visit www.paff.org.



Terms of Use | Privacy Policy